About Skeem Saam

Skeem Saam

Created by Winnie Serite
Written by Winnie Serite (Head Writer), Sibusiso Mamba, Tsale Makam, Bonga Percy Vilakazi, Kelton Sinyosi, Sinethemba Keleku, Lunga John Radebe (Script Editor), Kgomotso Aphane, Sebabatso Mofokeng, Thato Raletjena, Victor Molele, Siboniso Mabaso, Paseka Brian Letlhabane, Phathutshedzo Makwarela, Gwydion Beynon, Chisanga Kabinga, Siphosethu Xolisa Tshapu
Starring See “Cast” section
Opening theme TUKS
Country of origin South Africa
Original language(s) Sepedi, English, Zulu, Xhosa
No. of seasons 7
No. of episodes 1,079 – ongoing
Executive producer(s) Winnie Serite
Producer(s) Keketso Semoko, Debbie Strumpher
Running time 30 minutes
Production company(s) PEU Communication Solutions
Distributor SABC1

Skeem Saam is a soap opera created by Winnie Serite,


broadcast on SABC1 in South Africa. It stars Thabiso Mamabolo, Clement Maosa, Patrick Seleka and Lisa Madikizela.[1][2]The series premiered on SABC1 on Thursday 13 October 2011, at 18h30. The first two seasons of the show played out as a weekly drama, but the show was extended into a daily drama from Season 3. Season 3 premiered on Monday 14 July 2014 and aired at 18h30 daily. On Wednesday, 1 October it changed time to 20h00, replacing Generations which went off-air as a result of a dispute between the production and the actors. Skeem Saam aired in 20h00 timeslot until December 2014 when it will return to its 18h30 timeslot.The series mostly revolves around the township by the name Turfloop. It focuses on the complex lives of some of the characters of Turfloop, together with the lives of people they associate themselves with. With the series currently in its seventh season (its fifth as a daily drama), Winnie Serite guides the writing team as the series Head Writer. She also doubles up as the Executive Producer. Lunga John Radebe oversees the script writing process as the Script Editor. The Story Structurer is Sebabatso Mofokeng and Kgomotso Aphane doubles up as the Resident Writer and Script Continuity Supervisor. The current storyline team as it stands credits Sibusiso Mamba, Tsale Makam and Kelton Sinyosi. Other story contributors include Sinethemba Keleku, Thato Raletjena and Bonga Percy Vilakazi. Former series writers include Gwydion Beynon, Siphosethu Xolisa Tshapu, Kagiso Mogale, Phathutshedzo Makwarela and Chisanga Kabinga